lotus.jpg

That is what my dad used to say as I was walking next to him, holding his hand.  Amazing coming from a man that was raised in a military school. But he has learned to love, and deeply at that. Or he always have, and he learned how to communicate it. Whatever the case, I let my dady love me off and on my whole life. If I could do it all over again, I would let him love me all the time, without restrictions or conditions.

If I could speak to him now, this is what I would say,

“Dad,

I never knew those three letters could mean so much. I want to first and foremost let you know that I am happy. That is every parent’s only wish for their child, beyond anything else~to be happy. I am on the road I chose, the one I want to be on. I know you would be happy for me that I am pursuing films, what you loved, admired, studied, and adored your whole life. I know you would be happy that I am strong, and I am always learning. I don’t know if you would be so understanding about me having five children. But, when you see that I am being powerful about it, you would be proud. That I am raising my daughters and my son to be thinkers, and to express themselves. To be at the source of their life. You would be proud. To have you lay your eyes on me one last time, that look, that twinkle. That unbelievable ability to make me feel 10 feet tall and the most beautiful woman in the world. With one look. Your steel blue eyes that I looked into my whole life. I would give anything to look into them again. To touch you one more time, not the cold lifeless body that I tried to warm up. The one when you were thriving. Breathing. What we all take for granted, it seems. I know you  would be happy that I am living life to the fullest. I have big, big, plans dad. I’ll tell you some day. And then we will meet again. Someday, I will stand in front of you, and smile, “The ride is over, dad. Thanks for being apart of it. Thank you for choosing my mom to have me.” And you will smile. Thank you for giving me life. I love you.”